District Board of Trustees

Peter Birkes / Chairman of the Board, has over 25 years of experience in Commercial Lending and Financial Services and currently holds the position of Area President for a local bank. His experience includes commercial and industrial lending, bank management, portfolio management, risk assessment, financial analysis and credit underwriting approvals. He has a graduate certificate in public affairs from the Truman School of Public Affairs. Birkes was appointed to the Jefferson County Public Sewer Board in January 2014 and elected Chairman in 2021.

Clyde Pratt / Vice Chairman, Past Chairman of the Board, spent 38 years in management and the skilled trade department for Chrysler Corp., retiring in 2000. In 1972, he volunteered with the Lake Wauwanoka Sewer Company and served as President from 1993-2003. In 2005, Pratt was appointed to the newly created Jefferson County Public Sewer District and served as Chairman from 2007 until 2021. He continues to bring his experience and knowledge to serve on the Board as Vice Chairman.

David Keeley / Secretary, US Air Force retired with 30 years of experience in the management, operation, maintenance, troubleshooting, repair and logistical support of drinking water and wastewater treatment systems both inside and outside of the Continental United States. David has worked in some of the harshest environment around the world to begin or resume drinking water production or wastewater treatment. David began his service as on the Board in 2019.

William Eultgen / Financial Officer, has over 40 years of experience in management, production, distribution and logistics. With extensive knowledge in budgeting, capital improvements and contract negotiations. He served as Director of Operations for FedEx until he retired in 2001. He was a volunteer in home construction for Habitat for Humanity. Bill served as Financial Officer for Jefferson County Public Sewer District from 2010-2013 and served as an active liaison for the district until 2022 when he was appointed Financial Officer once again.

Douglas Bjornstad / P.E., District Manager, a registered professional engineer with more than 30 years of engineering experience, is a former member of the Board of Trustees for Jefferson County Public Sewer District. With a BS in Civil Engineering from Kansas State University, he previously served as senior project leader, project manager, and City engineer for various consulting engineering firms. His experience in the private sector includes roadway design, municipal water and wastewater design, storm water systems, environmental permitting, flood studies, project management, design-build construction administration, and asset management. His work has included State and Federally funded projects, FEMA projects, municipal infrastructure projects, and design build projects for governmental agencies including the US Navy and US Army Corps of Engineers.

Our Vision

To be a significant contributor to the region’s quality of life and a leader in protecting the environment; by providing cost efficient and effective wastewater collection and by delivering dependable service to the customers and citizens of the district.

Our Mission

To serve the public interest by managing the wastewater within our boundaries in a responsible manner which meets or exceeds customer expectations for the protection of health, the preservation of natural resources and the encouragement of responsible growth.

The five member Board of Trustees is the governing body of the District. The Board’s main goal is to assure that wastewater collection and treatment protects public health and the environment as efficiently and as economically as possible. In order to meet this goal, the Board endeavors to ensure that all new wastewater treatment facilities and all existing treatment facilities meet State and Federal requirements for discharge and operations. Also, the Board strives to minimize the number of treatment facilities both private and public in Jefferson County.

More specific duties include long-range planning; review of development plans; approval of the annual budget; approval of user rates; approval of contracts and agreements with engineers, contractors, consultants, other public bodies, etc.; approval of revisions to District rules and regulations; approval of bond elections and closings; review of monthly financials; and more. The District’s management, staff and contract employees report their activities to the Board on a monthly basis.

The Board meets on the fourth Wednesday of the month at 6 pm at the District’s office located at 4629 Yeager Rd, Hillsboro, MO 63050. The meetings are open to the public.

Appointments to the Board are made by the County Executive with the approval of the County Council. Being a Jefferson County resident is required. The term of service is five years. If you are interested in serving on the district board, applications are available by request with the County Executive.