Our Vision

To be a significant contributor to the region’s quality of life and a leader in protecting the environment; by providing cost efficient and effective wastewater collection and by delivering dependable service to the customers and citizens of the district.

Our Mission

To serve the public interest by managing the wastewater within our boundaries in a responsible manner which meets or exceeds customer expectations for the protection of health, the preservation of natural resources and the encouragement of responsible growth.


The five member Board of Trustees is the governing body of the District. The Board's main goal is to assure that wastewater collection and treatment protects public health and the environment as efficiently and as economically as possible. In order to meet this goal, the Board endeavors to ensure that all new wastewater treatment facilities and all existing treatment facilities meet State and Federal requirements for discharge and operations. Also, the Board strives to minimize the number of treatment facilities both private and public in Jefferson County.

More specific duties include long-range planning; review of development plans; approval of the annual budget; approval of user rates; approval of contracts and agreements with engineers, contractors, consultants, other public bodies, etc.; approval of revisions to District rules and regulations; approval of bond elections and closings; review of monthly financials; and more. The District's management, staff and contract employees report their activities to the Board on a monthly basis.

The Board meets on the fourth Wednesday of the month at 6 pm at the main office (4629 Yeager Road). The meetings are open to the public. Meeting agendas and minutes can be obtained by contacting the District office.

Appointments to the Board are made by the County Executive with the approval of the County Council. Being a District customer is preferred but not required, county residency is required.  The term of service is five years. If you are interested in serving on the district board, applications are available by request with the County Executive

District Manager

Douglas Bjornstad, P.E.

contact: dbjornstad@jeffcopsd.org

Board of Trustees

Chairman – Peter Birkes          Vice Chairman – Wade Amsden
Secretary – David Courtway          Financial Officer – David Keeley
Trustee – Clyde Pratt